Provence
Français / English

Lake Serre-Ponçon

A huge artificial lake

Lac de Serre-PonçonThe lake Serre Poncon is an artificial lake created by the establishment of a dam on the Durance, 2 km downstream from its confluence with the Ubaye.

With 1.2 billion m3 of water and an area of 28.2 km2, is the second largest water reservoir in Europe (the first being the Lac du Der-Chantecoq). It stretches over 19 km in the Durance valley, and 9 km in the Ubaye valley.

The development work of Lake Serre Poncon began in 1955 with Jean de Mailly for architect, assisted by Jean Prouvé, and pooling water restraint took place from November 1959 and end in May 1961. About 1500 people have been displaced and their villages - Savines, Ubaye, Rousset - flooded.

Pont de SavinesThe village of Savines was rebuilt and the new Savines-le-lac was inaugurated in 1962. It should be noted that 7 centuries of its existence, Savines was moved 3 times! The first name of the village was abandoned during the Revolution because of the ravages of the torrent of Réallon, and the second was therefore destroyed on May 3, 1961 for the purposes of construction of the restraint Serre Poncon. It was located on the left bank of the Durance at a place called "La Charrière." It dated back 1825 years. Today, the bridge Savines, with a total length of 924 m, overlooks the old village of 40 m.

Lac de Serre-PonçonThe dam embankment is 650 m wide at its base. The peak high of 124 m, is off 9.35 m long and 630 m. We can estimate its volume by 14 000 000 m3. It is designed to withstand an earthquake of magnitude 7 on the Richter scale. The catchment area of the lake is 3 600 km2 and the maximum capacity of the retainer 1272 km3. The maximum altitude of the lake is 780 m but can descend to 722 m at the low water level.
Starting from restraint, a canal built deflects most of the river water to the pond Berre. This "channel" of the Durance follows the natural bed of the river and allows agricultural irrigation.

Un lac apprécié des touristesNote that L'Eau vive (1958), a fictional film sponsored by EDF and written by Jean Giono (music by Guy Béart), is proceeding with the construction of the dam Serre Poncon backdrop.

Today, the lake Serre Poncon delight all tourists boating enthusiasts. Sailboats, catamarans, motor boats, sailboards, everything is available to brighten your holiday! You enjoy the pleasures of swimming or you initierez to kite surf in a space preserved, in the middle of mountains already fleurent a little Provence !

Around lake Serre-Ponçon

Barcelonnette - Jausiers - Le Parc du Mercantour - La vallée de l'Ubaye - Vallée du Haut Verdon - Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Lac de Serre-Ponçon

Un immense lac artificiel

Lac de Serre-PonçonLe lac de Serre-Ponçon est un lac artificiel créé par l'établissement d'un barrage sur la Durance, 2 km en aval de son confluent avec l'Ubaye.

Avec 1,2 milliard de m3 d’eau et une superficie de 28,2 km2, c'est la deuxième plus importante retenue d'eau en Europe (la première étant le Lac du Der-Chantecoq). Il s'étend sur 19 km dans la vallée de la Durance, et 9 km dans la vallée de l'Ubaye.

Les travaux d'aménagement du lac de Serre-Ponçon ont débuté en 1955 avec Jean de Mailly pour architecte, aidé de Jean Prouvé, et la mise en eau de la retenue s'est effectuée à partir de novembre 1959 pour s'achever en mai 1961. Environ 1500 personnes ont été déplacées et leurs villages - Savines, Ubaye, Rousset - inondés.

Pont de SavinesLe village de Savines a été reconstruit et le nouveau Savines-le-lac a été inauguré en 1962. Il faut noter qu'en 7 siècles de son existence, Savines s'est vu déplacé 3 fois ! Le premier village du nom fut abandonné sous la Révolution à cause des ravages du torrent de Réallon, et le second fut donc détruit le 3 mai 1961 pour les besoins de la construction de la retenue de Serre-Poncon. Il était situé sur la rive gauche de la Durance au lieu-dit "La Charrière". Il datait des années 1825. Aujourd'hui, le pont de Savines, d'une longueur totale de 924 m, surplombe l'ancien village de 40 m.

Lac de Serre-PonçonLe barrage en remblai est large de 650 m à sa base. La crête, haute de 124 m, est large de 9,35 m et longue de 630 m. On peut estimer son volume à 14 000 000 m3. Il est conçu pour résister à une secousse de magnitude 7 sur l'échelle de Richter. Le bassin versant du lac est de 3 600 km2 et la capacité maximale de la retenue de 1,272 km3. L'altitude maximale du lac est de 780 m mais elle peut descendre à 722 m à l'étiage.
A partir de la retenue, un canal bétonné - géré par EDF - dévie la plus grande partie de l'eau de la rivière jusqu'à l'étang de Berre. Ce "canal de la Durance" suit le lit naturel de la rivière et permet l'irrigation agricole.

Un lac apprécié des touristesA noter que L'Eau vive (1958), un film de fiction commandité par EDF et écrit par Jean Giono (musique de Guy Béart), se déroule avec la construction du barrage de Serre-Ponçon en toile de fond.

Aujourdhui, le lac de Serre-Ponçon ravira tous les touristes amateurs de nautisme. Voiliers, catamarans, bateaux à moteurs, planches à voile, tout est disponible pour égayer vos vacances ! Vous goûterez aux plaisirs de la baignade ou vous vous initierez au kite surf dans un espace préservé, au milieu de montagnes qui déjà fleurent un peu la Provence !

Autour du lac de Serre-Ponçon

Barcelonnette - Jausiers - Le Parc du Mercantour - La vallée de l'Ubaye - Vallée du Haut Verdon - Autres villes de Provence