Provence
Français / English

Roussillon

The ochre in Luberon

RoussillonRoussillon, in the Vaucluse department, is ranked among the most beautiful villages of France and is part of the perimeter Regional Park Luberon. It is actually the heart of the valley north of the Luberon, between the "Petit Luberon" and Monts de Vaucluse.

For years, the natural wealth offered by the soil of Roussillon has identified the main economic activity of the municipality: ochre reigned supreme in the village. In the eighteenth century, with the diversification of technical textile processing and need dyes, the exploitation of ochre in Roussillon mobilizing the bulk of the population.

However, the twentieth century, modern mining and the discovery of deposits more profitable have gradually closed all mines. At the beginning of 80 years, tourism has replaced the mining industry. But ochre has not totally disappeared revenues of the town! Indeed, he, his incomparable color, which drew the first artists fascinated by landscapes ashamed. It is also ochre, and its spectacular reliefs, which attracts tourists into the Colorado Provençal.

Façade ocréeRoussillon is, after Gordes, the second most visited village in the Luberon and has the label "More beautiful villages in France". It is best to discover Roussillon a sunny morning on the East, is arriving by road from Saint-Saturnin-lès-Apt, then the view is magical, the village appears atop a steep hill and its colors are red exacerbated by the sun, or by road Goult, where the red ochre appears gradually in the middle of pine forests in one fell swoop invade the entire landscape. Several parking on the periphery can limit the number of cars in the centre of the village.

The winding central street, which leads to the summit of the village is lined with art galleries, shops and products Provencal pretty houses of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. At the top, the church of Saint-Michel has a beautiful facade of the seventeenth century and is adjacent to a cliff where there is a magnificent panorama of 360 °, with orientation table.

A few hundred meters from the heart of the village, south-east side, do not miss the trail of ochre (paid), whose colors range from yellow to purple. To everyone's reach, but beware of the shoes, they may change color.

Pictures of Roussillon

Sentier des ocres Falaises d'ocre à Roussillon L'église Place de la Mairie Le village Sentier des ocres

Around Roussillon

Gordes - Bonnieux - Apt - Manosque - Lourmarin - Cavaillon - Luberon - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Abbaye de Sénanque - Sisteron - Le Thor

Provence
Français / English

Roussillon

Les ocres du Luberon

RoussillonRoussillon, dans le département de Vaucluse, est classé parmi les plus beaux villages de France et fait partie du périmètre Parc naturel régional du Luberon. Il se situe en fait au cœur de la vallée nord du Luberon, entre le "Petit Luberon" et les Monts de Vaucluse.

Durant des années, la richesse naturelle qu'offrait le sol de Roussillon a déterminé l'activité économique principale de la commune : l'ocre régnait en maître dans le village. Au XVIIIe siècle, avec la diversification des techniques de traitement des textiles et les besoin de teintures, l'exploitation de l'ocre à Roussillon mobilisait l'essentiel de la population.

Cependant, au XXe siècle, les moyens modernes d'extraction ainsi que la découverte de gisements plus rentables ont peu à peu fait fermer toutes les mines. Au début des années 80, le tourisme a remplacé cette industrie minière. Mais l'ocre n'a pas totalement disparu des revenus de la commune ! En effet, c'est lui, sa couleur incomparable, qui a attiré les premiers artistes fasciné par les paysages rougis. C'est l'ocre aussi, et ses spectaculaires reliefs, qui attire les touristes jusque dans le Colorado Provençal.

Façade ocréeRoussillon est, après Gordes, le deuxième village le plus visité du Luberon et possède le label de "Plus beau village de France". Le mieux est de découvrir Roussillon un matin ensoleillé par l'Est, soit en arrivant par la route de Saint-Saturnin-lès-Apt, la vue est alors magique, le village apparaissant au sommet d'une colline abrupte et ses teintes rouges sont avivées par le soleil ; soit par la route de Goult, où le rouge de l'ocre apparaît petit à petit au milieu des pinèdes pour d'un seul coup envahir tout le paysage. Plusieurs parkings à la périphérie permettent de limiter le nombre de voiture dans le centre du village.

La sinueuse rue centrale, qui conduit au sommet du village, est bordée de galeries d'art, de boutiques de produits provençaux et de jolies maisons des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles. En haut, l'église Saint-Michel possède une belle façade du XVIIe siècle et jouxte une falaise d'où l'on a un panorama magnifique sur 360°, avec table d'orientation.

A quelques centaines de mètres du cœur du village, côté sud-est, ne pas manquer le sentier des ocres (payant), dont les teintes vont du jaune au violet. A la portée de tous, mais gare aux chaussures, elles risquent de changer de couleur.

Photographies de Roussillon

Sentier des ocres Falaises d'ocre à Roussillon L'église Place de la Mairie Le village Sentier des ocres

Autour de Roussillon

Gordes - Bonnieux - Apt - Manosque - Lourmarin - Cavaillon - Luberon - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Abbaye de Sénanque - Sisteron - Le Thor