Provence

Mairie Manosque : 04.92.70.34.56

Office de tourisme : 04.92.72.16.00

Poste : 04.92.70.76.13

Français / English

Manosque

In the Luberon, a city endearing

ManosqueManosque is located south-west of the department of Alpes de Haute-Provence, in the Regional Natural Park of the Luberon. It is located on the right bank of the Durance. The old city, pear-shaped, is surrounded by boulevards that have replaced the old ramparts of which he has been kept beautiful remains. The crossing of Manosque, the door Soubeyran to door Saunerie, will give an idea of its streets typically Provencal, narrow and lined with high houses.

Former walls remain three doors :
Porte Saunerie (1382 - Romanesque style) The central body is defended by two assommoirs. The two towers side are crowned with beautiful machicolation.
Porte Soubeyran (XIV century bell tower built in 1830) (the North) The door, restored, is decorated with a beautiful stone balustrade
Porte Guilhempierre (the West) (was destroyed but recently rebuilt).

Do not miss during your visit to Manosque visiting Notre-Dame de Romigier, a Romanesque church located Place de l'Hotel de Ville. This church, restored in the eighteenth century, houses the statue of the Virgin Black. On the front, admire the Virgin marble Pierre Puget. In a chapel at the end of the bottom-left side, are an altar, consisting of a marble sarcophagus in the fourth century and a wooden statue of the XII.

A story about Manosque : during the passage of François I in 1516, the daughter of the consul, who presents the keys to the city to the king, makes it a compliment. The prince of admiring glances stop on her, her modesty alarm. To eliminate the freshness of its tone and the charm that nature has provided, it exposes his face to sulphur fumes. The king, very moved, fills favors and gifts the girl and her family. Since that Manosque took the nickname " La Pudique."

Pictures of Manosque

Manosque Manosque 2 Manosque 3

Around Manosque

Luberon - Gordes - Lourmarin - Apt - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Gorges du Verdon - Val d'Allos - Moustiers Sainte Marie - Jean Giono - Mercantour - Digne les Bains - Abbaye de Sénanque - Sisteron

Other cities in Provence

Provence

Mairie Manosque : 04.92.70.34.56

Office de tourisme : 04.92.72.16.00

Poste : 04.92.70.76.13

Français / English

Manosque

Dans le Luberon, une ville attachante

ManosqueManosque est située au Sud-ouest du département des Alpes-de-Haute-Provence, dans le Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon. Elle se situe sur la rive droite de la Durance. La vieille ville, en forme de poire, est entourée de boulevards qui ont remplacé les anciens remparts dont il reste cependant de beaux vestiges. La traversée de Manosque, de la porte Soubeyran à la porte Saunerie, donnera une idée de ses rues typiquement provençales, étroites et bordées de hautes maisons.

Des anciens remparts, subsistent trois portes :
Porte Saunerie (1382 - de style roman)Le corps central est défendu par deux assommoirs. Les deux tourelles latérales sont couronnées de beaux mâchicoulis.
Porte Soubeyran (XIVe siècle ; campanile construit en 1830) (au Nord) Cette porte, restaurée, est décorée d'une jolie balustrade de pierre
Porte Guilhempierre (à l'Ouest) (a été détruite mais reconstruite récemment).

Ne manquez pas au cours de votre visite à Manosque de vous rendre à Notre-Dame de Romigier, une église romane située Place de l'Hôtel de Ville. Cette église, restaurée au XVIIIe siècle, abrite la statue de la Vierge Noire. Sur la façade, admirez la Vierge en marbre de Pierre Puget. Dans une chapelle, à l'extrémité du bas-côté gauche, se trouvent un autel, formé d'un sarcophage en marbre du IVe siècle et une statue en bois du XIIe.

Une anecdote sur Manosque : lors du passage de François Ier en 1516, la fille du consul, chargée de présenter les clés de la ville au roi, lui fait un compliment. Les regards admiratifs du prince s'arrêtent sur elle, alarment sa pudeur. Pour faire disparaître la fraîcheur de son teint et les charmes que la nature lui a prodigués, elle expose son visage à des vapeurs de soufre. Le roi, fort ému, comble de faveurs et de libéralités la jeune fille et sa famille. C'est depuis lors que Manosque a pris le surnom de "la Pudique".

Photographies de Manosque

Manosque Manosque 2 Manosque 3

Autour de Manosque

Luberon - Gordes - Lourmarin - Apt - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Gorges du Verdon - Val d'Allos - Moustiers Sainte Marie - Jean Giono - Mercantour - Digne les Bains - Abbaye de Sénanque - Sisteron

Autres villes de Provence