Français / English

Le Luberon

A mountain and a Regional Natural Park

Luberon (Gordes)The Luberon is the name given to a french mountain low stretching from east to west between the Alpes de Haute-Provence and the Vaucluse, 70 km north of Marseille.

The mountain of Luberon is over 60 km long with a width of 5 kilometres, and its highest point is Mourre Negre, rounded summit which stands at 1125 metres altitude, in the Grand Luberon.

Its limestone terrain and climate to provide a wide variety of ecosystems and have always kept relatively remote from major events in history, while the source of a diverse economy.

The terrain of the Massif du Luberon

Falaises dans le LuberonThe Massif du Luberon includes several "mountain": the Grand Luberon and the Petit Luberon are the main ones. There is also a Luberon East whose heights are between 280 and 976 meters and which corresponds to the most to the east of the massif. However, many old maps or guides do not mention, spoke only of Grand and Petit Luberon.
This is the river of Aiguebrun through the massive north-south between the Petit Luberon Grand Luberon. It dug a combe known as the combe Lourmarin.
The Grand Luberon, which culminates the Mourre Negre, is the main part of the massive both in size and length and width. It is located east of the combe Lourmarin.
Le Petit Luberon, meanwhile, is the triangle Cavaillon, Apt, Lourmarin, south of the valley Calavon which separates Mountains of Vaucluse. This triangle, located in the part of a massive west of the combe Lourmarin, begins at a height of 110 meters and rises to a height of 727 metres.

The regional nature park of the Luberon

Le Luberon, un Parc Naturel RégionalCreated in 1977, the Regional Natural Park of the Luberon spans two departments (Vaucluse and Alpes de Haute Provence) and receives 72 municipalities. It has an area of 174 726 hectares and extends from Cavaillon in the west to limit the Regional Natural Park of Verdon to the east, Durance acting as border between the two.
The communces are those of the Luberon north and south of the Luberon, but also Calavon Valley and the southern part of the Monts de Vaucluse, as Gordes or Joucas. Four cities have more than 10 000 inhabitants, Cavaillon, Apt, Manosque and Pertuis
In December 1997, the Luberon was officially recognized by UNESCO's World Network of Biosphere Reserves.
According to Article 3 of the Charter of the Parc du Luberon its delimitation reconciles a territorial approach based and socio-economic approach taking into account existing relations between the central cities (Apt, Cavaillon, Manosque, Pertuis) and rural municipalities surrounding .

Tourism in the Luberon

Randonnée en LuberonThe economy is the most easily identifiable around the Massif du Luberon is linked to tourism. Even wine producers seem to take into account the development of tourism and more and more areas offer more than traditional tasting real introductory course in oenology. The Parc du Luberon itself becomes an object, eg with "houses in the park" or creating labels.
It may take three main kinds of tourism in the Luberon. First, the historical and cultural tourism which relies on a rich heritage of villages perched on or festivals. Then, tourism relaxation which translates into an important development houses, the hotel and rental seasonal, with a significant concentration of swimming pools and entertainment markets as Provencal. Finally, the green tourism that benefits the many walking paths and protected framework offered by the Luberon and its environs.

The golden triangle of Luberon

Village perché en LuberonThe golden triangle du Luberon is a term dating from the years 1970-1980 taken over by some newspapers to designate a portion of the valley Calavon, north of the mountain in the Petit Luberon.
The triangle would base the Petit Luberon with its old villages perched and its summit would be represented by the village of Gordes. However, others perched villages of great charm as Joucas, Murs and Roussillon, are traditionally included in the "triangle".
The Luberon, under the initiative of certain municipalities as Gordes, quickly became a protected place, unlike the French Riviera too much concrete. That's how Gordes adopted land use plan the strictest Vaucluse department and one of the most stringent of France. Thereafter, other villages have also sought to grow while protecting themselves and all the late 1990's and early this century, decided a higher quality of protection of their common and began to treat their aesthetic.

Towns and villages in the Luberon

Manosque - Gordes - Lourmarin - Cavaillon - Apt - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Abbaye de Sénanque - Le Thor