Provence
Français / English

Cavaillon

In the Regional Natural Park of the Luberon

CavaillonCavaillon, in the Vaucluse department, is part of the regional nature park of the Luberon. Cavaillon is located in the Durance valley at the foot of the hill Saint-Jacques, which dominates the surrounding plain and is facing the Luberon, and the Alpilles south-west.

Since ancient times, the town of Cavaillon has proved to be an important crossing point to reach the South of France. It remains today, both commercial and tourism.
Located 30 km from the city of Avignon and 60 km from Marseille, it is a fact that the city has a very enviable position.

Tourism in Cavaillon

Arche Romaine à CavaillonRich on a plan archaeological Cavaillon includes the entry of former Roman baths which you can admire the arcs of intersection (of the first century, moved in the nineteenth and re-installed on the main square of the city).

There are, among others, a remarkable old Cathedral (Cathedral of Notre Dame and Saint Véran eleventh century), a synagogue (Cavaillon synagogue was built in the fifteenth, then rebuilt in the eighteenth century), a chapel hermitage (Chapelle Saint - Jacques twelfth century), other chapels (including the Chapel of the Hotel-Dieu de 1755) and the Museum of the Hotel-Dieu.

The hill Saint-Jacques offers a view overlooking the city. There is also the Monts de Vaucluse, Luberon, the chain of Alpilles, the Valley of the Durance with a substantive Mont Ventoux and the Dentelles de Montmirail...

Melons de CavaillonThe owner of the trademark "Cavaillon Melon", the Municipality of Cavaillon, instructed the union Masters Melonniers Cavaillon to preserve and develop the reputation and attractiveness of the product "Cavaillon Melon" in Europe.

Pictures of Cavaillon

Une rue de Cavaillon Cathédrale de Cavaillon Une maison de Cavaillon

Around Cavaillon

Apt - Gordes - Lourmarin - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Manosque - Saint Rémy de Provence - Fontvieille - Maussane les Alpilles - Les Alpilles - Luberon - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Dentelles de Montmirail - Mont Ventoux - Avignon - Abbaye de Sénanque - Le Thor

Other cities in Provence

Provence
Français / English

Cavaillon

Dans le Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon

CavaillonCavaillon, dans le département de Vaucluse, fait partie du Parc naturel régional du Luberon. Cavaillon est située dans la vallée de la Durance, au pied de la colline Saint-Jacques qui domine la plaine environnante et fait face au Luberon, ainsi qu'aux Alpilles au sud-ouest.

Depuis l'antiquité, la ville de Cavaillon s'est révélée être un point de passage important pour se rendre dans le Midi. Elle le reste de nos jours, tant sur un plan commercial que touristique.
Située à 30 km de la ville d'Avignon et à 60 km de Marseille, il est de fait que la cité possède une position géographique très enviable.

Tourisme à Cavaillon

Arche Romaine à CavaillonArchéologiquement riche, Cavaillon comprend l'entrée des anciens thermes romains dont on peut admirer les arcs d'intersection (du Ier siécle, déplacés au XIXe et remontés sur la place principale de la ville).
Il y a, entre autres, une remarquable ancienne cathédrale (Cathédrale Notre Dame et Saint Véran du XIe siècle), une synagogue (la synagogue de Cavaillon fut construite au XVe, puis reconstruite au XVIIIe siècle), une chapelle d'ermitage (Chapelle Saint-Jacques du XIIe siècle), d'autres chapelles (dont la Chapelle de l'Hôtel-Dieu de 1755) et le Musée de l'Hôtel-Dieu.
La colline Saint-Jacques offre une vue surplombant la ville. On observe aussi les Monts de Vaucluse, Le Luberon, La chaine des Alpilles, la Vallée de la Durance avec en fond le Mont Ventoux et les dentelles de Montmirail...

Melons de CavaillonPropriétaire de la marque commerciale "Melon de Cavaillon", la Mairie de Cavaillon a chargé le syndicat des Maîtres Melonniers de Cavaillon de préserver et développer la notoriété et l'attractivité du produit "Melon de Cavaillon" en Europe.

Photographies de Cavaillon

Une rue de Cavaillon Cathédrale de Cavaillon Une maison de Cavaillon

Autour de Cavaillon

Apt - Gordes - Lourmarin - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Manosque - Saint Rémy de Provence - Fontvieille - Maussane les Alpilles - Les Alpilles - Luberon - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Dentelles de Montmirail - Mont Ventoux - Avignon - Abbaye de Sénanque - Le Thor

Autres villes de Provence