Provence
Français / English

Apt

The Luberon and the Colorado Provençal

Apt (Vaucluse)In the Regional Natural Park of the Luberon, Apt is located on the old track Domitienne. Its downtown, gathered around the Cathedral Sainte-Anne, was once an island. The city was built in a valley between the "Massif du Luberon" and the "Monts de Vaucluse"..

Apt is a common Regional Natural Park of the Luberon, you'll enjoy beautiful landscapes and a highly protected environment. The heart of the city with several former east picturesque streets (like the "Rue des Marchands") and a few remarkable passages vaulted.

The traditions in Apt

Fruits confits d'AptThe tradition of candied fruits is anchored in Apt since the Middle Ages, indeed, from the fourteenth century, Aptésiens provided the Papal Court of Avignon. In the nineteenth century, artisans Apt develop their skills and confisent bigarreaux, apricots, pears, figs, plums, tangerines, melons, angelic, violets, rose petals, walnuts… Towards 1830, the success encourages more entrepreneurs to enter the stage Industrial: The first plant steam is created in 1864.
Today, Apt plants annually produce 15 000 tons of fruits and all preparations for fresh dairy products (yogurt fruit…).

Another tradition dear to Apt, earthenware. The country of Apt is the heir to a long tradition potter due to the quality of its clay and its land ochre. The first pottery kiln was lit by Cesar Moulin in 1728 at Castellet, and craftsmen still perpetuate this activity.

Tourism in Apt

Crypte de la cathédrale d'AptVisit the Cathedral Sainte-Anne which has a nave and a tower of the XIIth century. Two crypts can be visited. The crypt below is the oldest, the crypt contains more than relics, and an altar of the fifth century.

Other worthy of interest in Apt, the Museum of History and Archaeology. It presents the history of the city and country of Apt first century to the present day. The building stands on the ruins of a Gallo-Roman theatre. It includes rooms Gallo-Roman room ex-voto, that of earthenware Apt and the hospital.

The "Colorado Provençal"

Colorado Provençal, les Cheminées des FéesNot far from Apt, more exactly near Rustrel, also made a visit to the "Colorado Provençal". The Colorado Provencal east on the town of Rustrel and extends over 30 hectares. Its earthen trails to discover eroded cliffs, including more than 20 shades of ochre. The "circus Barriès", the "circus Bouvène", tanks, fairy chimneys, the place known as "Sahara", tunnels, the bed of the Doa (the small local river) offer the varied scenery hikers

Around Apt

Manosque - Gordes - Lourmarin - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Cavaillon - Luberon - Abbaye de Sénanque - Vaison la Romaine - Sisteron - Le Thor

Provence
Français / English

Apt

Le Luberon et le Colorado Provençal

Apt (Vaucluse)Au coeur du Parc naturel Régional du Luberon, Apt est située sur l'ancienne voie Domitienne. Son centre ville, groupé autour de la cathédrale Sainte-Anne, occupait jadis une île. La ville s'est construite dans une vallée entre le Massif du Luberon et les Monts de Vaucluse.

Apt étant une des communes du Parc Naturel Régional du Luberon, vous bénéficierez de paysages splendides et d'un environnement très protégé. Le cœur de la ville est ancien avec plusieurs rues pittoresques (comme la rue des Marchands) et quelques remarquables passages voûtés.

Les traditions à Apt

Fruits confits d'AptLa tradition des fruits confits est ancrée à Apt depuis le Moyen Age, en effet, dès le XIVe siècle, les Aptésiens fournissaient la Cour Papale d'Avignon. Au XIXe siècle, les artisans de Apt développent leurs compétences et confisent bigarreaux, abricots, poires, figues, prunes, mandarines, melons, angélique, violettes, pétales de rose, noix… Vers 1830, le succès incite les plus entreprenants à passer au stade industriel : La première usine à vapeur est créée en 1864.
Aujourd'hui, les usines de Apt produisent annuellement 15 000 tonnes de fruits confits et autant de préparations pour produits laitiers frais (yaourts aux fruits…).

Autre tradition chère à Apt, la faïence. Le pays d'Apt est l'héritier d'une longue tradition potière due à la qualité de ses argiles et de ses terres d'ocre. Le premier four à faïencerie fut allumé par César Moulin en 1728 à Castellet, et des artisans perpétuent toujours cette activité.

Tourisme à Apt

Crypte de la cathédrale d'AptVisitez la cathédrale Sainte-Anne qui possède une nef et un clocher du XIIe siècle. Deux cryptes peuvent se visiter. La crypte inférieure est la plus ancienne, la crypte supérieure contient des reliques, et un autel du Ve siècle.

Autre lieu digne d'intérêt à Apt, le Musée d'histoire et d'archéologie. Il présente l'histoire de la ville et du pays d'Apt du premier siècle à nos jours. Le bâtiment s'élève sur les vestiges d'un théâtre gallo-romain. Il comprend des salles gallo-romaines, la salle des ex-voto, celle des faïences d'Apt et celle de l'hôpital.

Le Colorado Provenšal

Colorado Provençal, les Cheminées des FéesNon loin d'Apt, faites également une visite au Colorado Provençal. Le Colorado provençal est sur la commune de Rustrel et s'étend sur plus de 30 hectares. Ses sentiers en terre permettent de découvrir des falaises érodées comprenant plus de 20 teintes d'ocre. Le "cirque de Barriès", le "cirque de Bouvène", les bassins de décantation, les cheminées de fée, le lieu dit "sahara", les tunnels, le lit de la Doa (la petite rivière locale) offrent des décors variés aux randonneurs.

Autour de Apt

Manosque - Gordes - Lourmarin - Bonnieux - Roussillon - Fontaine de Vaucluse - L'Isle sur la Sorgue - Cavaillon - Luberon - Abbaye de Sénanque - Vaison la Romaine - Sisteron - Le Thor - Provence